I blog for Change…

As I attempt to orient the windy and often treacherous roads that encapsulate life, here are some of my thoughts on the successes, failures and ultimately the hope and positivity in which I strive for a better world. I also hope that I can use this blog as a platform to elevate the social justice issues that are somewhat forgotten in the modern discourse of staying silent on issues that challenge.

Dear Future Soul Mate..

Leave a comment

Dear Future Soul Mate,

I’m not going to start this letter by proclaiming that I have been searching for you my entire life or that the pursuit of your existence represents the sole purpose for my being; because to be honest, that couldn’t be farther from the truth. For all of the years of my life so far, I have actually been in search of myself without ever realising or understanding what that meant.

When I was younger I remember wasting so much of my time and energy bemoaning the fact that you hadn’t entered my life yet. I often wondered why this was especially when I began to look around and compare my existence to others. I measured almost every aspect of my journey against whether or not I had someone to lean on and projected my insecurities onto that person expecting them to heal those wounds. But I would never want for that you.

It’s taken so much time for me to realise that the healing I seek, the confidence and ease of being that I need is to be found within myself. It’s become glaringly evident that I have needed to understand myself and the innate strength I possess before I was ready to meet you. This has only come from years of toiling, battling and living on my own. I would never have known the abundance of my own strength and the unyielding nature of my self-worth unless I had faced these struggles alone.

I’m not saying that these difficulties are now complete. They are in fact ongoing as I continue to learn about myself and grow into the human being that I am supposed to be. But what I am saying is that I am ready to meet you, I’m ready for you to be a part of my life and take this journey by my side and on terms that our jointly decided by us both. I’m ready for the reciprocal partnership that our lives will offer us and willing to work towards building a functional relationship based on mutuality and respect.

I promise to never look for self completion within you; that is not a role that you are supposed to play in my life. Your presence will complement the elements of my existence that I have already built on my own and of my own accord. Our lives will not amalgamate into one, for we are two unique and individual entities who are as independent and free spirited as each other. Our roles in each other’s lives will be to support each other to become the best possible versions of ourselves in the pursuit of our greatness.

The truth is I wasn’t ready for you before, mainly because I’ve needed to build the foundation towards my own journey first. I would never have appreciated your place in my life back then because I would’ve looked to find the best of me within you and that is not the type of life partnership that either one of us are destined for.

So whenever you feel you have reached that same stage in the pursuit of your own journey, I’ll be ready to meet you and endeavour upon whatever is written in the stars for our future together.

Sx

Leave a Reply

