I blog for Change…

As I attempt to orient the windy and often treacherous roads that encapsulate life, here are some of my thoughts on the successes, failures and ultimately the hope and positivity in which I strive for a better world. I also hope that I can use this blog as a platform to elevate the social justice issues that are somewhat forgotten in the modern discourse of staying silent on issues that challenge.

Is stability counterintuitive to Growth?

Leave a comment

All too often life forces us out of our relative comfort and pushes us to either change direction, or stop, take a breather and reassess. In most instances this is a painful yet inevitable endeavour to put us back on track towards the direction that we may have strayed from without even realising it. In almost every instance of this occurrence it is drawn from a shock or an external jolt within our everyday lives. This has been none the more obvious to me due to recent events.

For the past few weeks my workplace has been going through departmental downsizing and due to a few varying factors my team was instructed that redundancies would occur and were in fact imminent. However, the announcement of who that would apply to wasn’t going to be made public for some time yet. I remember feeling as though an immense impending doom was descending on me at a rate and speed I could not control. Having to operate in this environment has certainly been a challenge but got me thinking about the element of fate and destiny and if the rigid plans that we have for our lives are actually inhibiting us from true growth and realising our full potential.

It’s all a part of one’s life journey to build towards the idea of stability. We are constantly told as children that the path to adulthood means educating yourself and working hard enough to carve out a space within a specific field or workplace or career. Of course I am not in opposition to this theory per say but perhaps we’ve been looking at it wrong this entire time. What if instead of pushing towards stability we prioritised the attainment of knowledge and life experience. Perhaps we aren’t supposed to stand still in one career path or job or organisation for years on end but instead challenge ourselves towards something better and different on a consistent basis.

I’ve often thought of comfort as a rampant dream killer. I mean the whole basis of being comfortable revolves around the idea of a state of ease but how conducive is this to growth?

The entire point that I am trying to make in this piece, albeit longwinded, is that bumps in life are utterly inevitable. In the case of losing a job or being made redundant perhaps this presents the opportunities that come with a blessing in disguise. Maybe it’s the universe telling us that we have been comfortable for too long and were headed down a restrictive path in the wrong direction.

Sx

Leave a Reply

