I blog for Change…

As I attempt to orient the windy and often treacherous roads that encapsulate life, here are some of my thoughts on the successes, failures and ultimately the hope and positivity in which I strive for a better world. I also hope that I can use this blog as a platform to elevate the social justice issues that are somewhat forgotten in the modern discourse of staying silent on issues that challenge.

Let go of what no longer serves you.

Leave a comment

If you were to believe in astrology or planetary alignments, you would have heard by now that the year has started with a fair few equinoxes, transit points and full moon eclipses. In theory this is supposed to represent a time of upheaval and change which presents us an opportunity to pull back, reflect and then propel ourselves into the future anew. For one reason or another, I have felt compelled to embark on a few decisions and initiatives lately that may seem uncharacteristic of my nature. But I can’t help thinking fit into this astrological theory of upheaval. These actions have had many in my life question the reasons and logic behind them and perhaps this reflection may serve as an indication of the thoughts and intent behind my decision to pursue them.

I think I have been guilty in the past of allowing life to ‘happen’ to me with a sort of victim mentality. When things haven’t gone ‘to plan’, instead of accepting this fate and reformulating a newly tailored approach, I have given into a higher cause or power dictating a miserable path in my life and thereby abdicated my own responsibility within it all. In the years that have recently past, I’ve been ok with doing this but for some reason, I can’t allow it to go on anymore. I’ve felt a strong drive to be more intentional about my future and to let go of the things that no longer serve me. I suppose it’s accurate to say, that a combination of forces of perhaps the universe, and my own sense of purpose are currently allowing things/people/objects to leave my life in order to find the ones that are truly destined for me.

Perhaps it is necessary every now and then to do a life spring clean. This doesn’t represent the need to throw half your metaphorical belongings out but instead it presents us with the opportunity to reflect on what we currently have in front of us. Not all interactions, relationships and/or situations are supposed to be permanent. Some are simply destined to come into our lives to teach us a lesson.

Through all of this, I’ve come to realise the importance of stopping to assess our progress in life every now and then. It’s so easy to get lost and caught up in the daily grind without being able to reflect on whether the journey we are leading ourselves on is still on course or has veered off into a direction that isn’t representational of our intentions or aspirations.

In one way or another, I have noticed a shift in my life. For the first time in a long time, I am thinking about my journey, my path and what is right for me. I’ve allowed my empathetic innate nature to absorb the negativities in not only my life, but those around me as well and the toxicity of it all has previously saddened me into the false sense of a lack of control. But the truth is, if I truly want to live a life that is moral, just and free of hypocrisy, then I am going to have make some uncomfortable and most likely unconventional decisions about the course of action to take that is ahead of me. I am prepared for this.

Sx

Leave a Reply

