I blog for Change…

As I attempt to orient the windy and often treacherous roads that encapsulate life, here are some of my thoughts on the successes, failures and ultimately the hope and positivity in which I strive for a better world. I also hope that I can use this blog as a platform to elevate the social justice issues that are somewhat forgotten in the modern discourse of staying silent on issues that challenge.

DAY 14: Give Thanks for Your Mistakes

Leave a comment

So I have come to the end of my 14 Day Gratitude Challenge, and on such a fitting day. Today is my last day at work after being here for 2 and a half years. I am taking a leap of faith and moving home to my family, friends and hopefully, an abundance of new opportunities.

Therefore today I will give thanks for the many and varying mistakes that I have made in my past.

I give thanks for the decisions that I have made as I would not be the person I am today, or where I am at this particular moment had I not have committed them. I have stumbled and fallen on many occasions and I have been too harsh on myself as times have gone on. I’ve learnt so many lessons not only about life, but about myself also and I have come to realise that life isn’t about waiting for opportunities and change to fall into your lap; it’s about being brave enough to take action in order for them to come into fruition.

I have been guilty in the past of blaming my mistakes on others and questioning the Universe as to why it was being so hard on me. I held this forthright claim to happiness which was placed outside of myself and expected success without actually doing anything to make it happen. Because of my mistakes and past failures I now realise that the most important thing in this world is to work on myself, to each and every day attempt to be the best version of myself that I can be and to commit to bettering myself always.

I have learnt so much and for this I am supremely grateful for my mistakes. I know that life is indeed up to me and instead of focusing on the negatives and consistently looking back, I should instead be grateful for the things I do have and cherish and love all the wonderful people who surround me.

For all of this, I sincerely give thanks.

Leave a Reply

