I blog for Change…

As I attempt to orient the windy and often treacherous roads that encapsulate life, here are some of my thoughts on the successes, failures and ultimately the hope and positivity in which I strive for a better world. I also hope that I can use this blog as a platform to elevate the social justice issues that are somewhat forgotten in the modern discourse of staying silent on issues that challenge.

DAY 13: Do a Gratitude Meditation

Leave a comment

This one is a tough one to journal, however I thought I would mentally meditate on a different angle; 2 goals I have achieved in the recent past.

Today I choose to reflect on:

Completing my Masters

Late last year I finished my Masters. This was such an achievement because I was working full time whilst also studying. It was genuinely one of the most difficult tasks I have ever embarked upon. There were certain times during this period when I felt that I could not continue and all I wanted to do was give up. I sacrificed a great many things in the pursuit, namely any semblance of a personal life. My evenings and weekends were either spent studying with my head buried deep into books or else worrying and feeling guilty because I was not doing these things and should have been! During my last semester I chose to increase my load and study full time whilst also working full time. It was intense and crazy to say the least. I would often find that my brain would switch off completely because it had been exerted so much first at work and then after a 9-10 hour day, at home studying too.

But in the end, it was all worth it. I now look back with admiration and pride at the strength I exerted during these difficult times. I practiced a level of discipline and self belief that I did not realise I had in me prior to those moments. I am so proud of this achievement and am very thankful for the experience itself, for it taught me a great deal about what I was capable of.

The decision to pack up and move back to Melbourne

This was a difficult one for me but I genuinely believe it to be an achievement. Turning your back on a stable and steady job to leap into the unknown is such a difficult thing to do. Society teaches us that stability and conformity are the most important principles to which to live ones life. However, I have never adhered to these rules and prefer to let my heart guide me. I am making an investment into my future by being where my heart is, after all life is too short to be somewhere that you don’t want to be. I am very grateful for my ability to always do what feels right no matter the obstacles in my path and I am so very proud of this innate quality.

Leave a Reply

