I blog for Change…

As I attempt to orient the windy and often treacherous roads that encapsulate life, here are some of my thoughts on the successes, failures and ultimately the hope and positivity in which I strive for a better world. I also hope that I can use this blog as a platform to elevate the social justice issues that are somewhat forgotten in the modern discourse of staying silent on issues that challenge.

DAY 11 – 3 Things You Tend to Take for Granted

Leave a comment

There are so very many things that I tend to take for granted in my life and it’s only when I stop, take some time out and genuinely think deeply about them that I begin to realise how lucky I am. Here are some of the major ones for me:

My Health

Touch wood, I have been relatively lucky with this aspect of my life. I haven’t had much to complain about nor have I had lingering health issues which have plagued my existence. It was only last month, when I was in my mid 20’s that I had to get stitches, a fairly good run I’d say!

I was listening to a colleague tell a story yesterday about a friend of hers who was recently diagnosed with cancer and unfortunately, over the weekend was given the grave news that she had little more than a few days to live. My colleague spoke about the braveness of this young lady who had not complained about her lot in life once, even at the very end. I suppose it really made me understand that my own trivial issues in life were nothing short of that, completely and utterly trivial in the big scheme of things.

The love I have in my life

As young females when posed with the question of whether or not we have ‘love’ in our lives, society judges us on one thing, and one thing alone, a man. But love is about so much more than this one determining factor. I have often wondered whether I am being utterly selfish by expecting more life to come into my life and I am showered by so much of its abundance already. The unconditional love of my parents, my family and my friends is such a blessing and I have always tended to take this for granted. But at the end of the day, it is this form of love that is the one that is unconditional and that will last.

My level of comfort in life

Sure we all complain about the things that we do not have in life, I can’t afford that luxury dream car, that beautiful expansive property by the water, that one breathtakingly elegant Vivian Westwood gown etc etc. But how often do we sit back and think about all of the creature comforts that we already have. I have a roof over my head, enough food to eat, a huge amount of material possessions; endless supplies of shoes, clothes and jewellery, so really what one earth am I complaining about?

Leave a Reply

