I blog for Change…

As I attempt to orient the windy and often treacherous roads that encapsulate life, here are some of my thoughts on the successes, failures and ultimately the hope and positivity in which I strive for a better world. I also hope that I can use this blog as a platform to elevate the social justice issues that are somewhat forgotten in the modern discourse of staying silent on issues that challenge.

DAY 8: Transform an Ungrateful Thought

Leave a comment

The topic today is actually quite perfect for the mood that has taken hold in my being right now. I well and truly woke up on the wrong side of the bed today and from that moment on, I knew the day would be a struggle. I’m having a complete blah day so I am going to attempt to meet those ungrateful thoughts head on, in order to turn my day around.

I have been feeling extremely anxious today and I have let all those negative and destructive thoughts of the past creep back into my mind. They are indeed clouding my judgments and placing such a huge damper on the beauty of today. I keep thinking about the uncertainties of the future and picturing the worst possible scenarios in my head which is so ridiculous because I had a conversation with a good friend on this very topic not too long ago. To repeat my thoughts then and reinforce a sentiment which I have seemingly forgotten today; there is absolutely no point in envisioning things in the future and playing them out in your head. More often than not, you will shift into negative thinking which is driven by the fear of the unknown. We have this innate ability to foresee situations of doom and get so caught up in the worries of what if. The ridiculousness of that is endemic but apparently difficult to be seen on occasion. No one knows what the future holds and the idea of worrying about something that hasn’t (and may never actually) happen seems absurd beyond explanation.

So I suppose the message of today is, plan for the future yes but don’t worry yourself sick about it. All we can do is act in the here and now, take steps in order to make tomorrow great and continue walking towards the goal of being the best people we can possibly be. Then before we know it, wonderful things will unfold in the paths that greet us in the future.

Leave a Reply

