I blog for Change…

As I attempt to orient the windy and often treacherous roads that encapsulate life, here are some of my thoughts on the successes, failures and ultimately the hope and positivity in which I strive for a better world. I also hope that I can use this blog as a platform to elevate the social justice issues that are somewhat forgotten in the modern discourse of staying silent on issues that challenge.

DAY 7 – Give Thanks to Yourself

Leave a comment

Today, I give thanks to myself… what a difficult task indeed. It’s funny how as individuals we find it so much easier to give thanks to other people than to acknowledge ourselves and be thankful for who we are. However, I will do my best with this attempt.

I am grateful today for my strength. I have had my fair share of low points in my past, especially recently, however I somehow always manage to pick myself up, hold my head up high and face the day that is. There is just something inside me that doesn’t allow me to give up, an inherent hope and belief that life will get better and that the best times of my life are yet to come.

I give thanks for the empathy and compassion that drive my existence each and every day. I have been blessed with the ability to feel with others and to be moved by their struggles, which I then so often take on as my own. I am thankful for my ability to feel and love unconditionally.

I am thankful for my ability to trust. This is a big one, I often catch myself telling people that I have systemic trust issues. But if I truly come to think of it, I don’t have trust issues at all, not deep down. I simply have been burnt so often that I have tended to doubt first and then trust later (way later!). However, life can’t be lived with one or the other here, all that I have experienced and been through in life have taught me that a combination of the two is what is truly needed and that trust should be accorded to those who deserve it.

I give thanks to the person that I was in past, the lessons I have learnt and the traumas I have encountered. Because they have taught me that love is not to be found elsewhere, from other people or some far off belief in the perfect ending. Love is to be found within oneself. I will be the first to admit that is a foreign concept to me, however I am so very grateful that I have been taught this lesson at this particular stage of my life. I commit to working towards it and loving and being thankful towards my own being. So again, I give thanks to myself and all my little quirks, oddities and strangeness, for I am me and there is no one else like me in this world.

Leave a Reply

