I blog for Change…

As I attempt to orient the windy and often treacherous roads that encapsulate life, here are some of my thoughts on the successes, failures and ultimately the hope and positivity in which I strive for a better world. I also hope that I can use this blog as a platform to elevate the social justice issues that are somewhat forgotten in the modern discourse of staying silent on issues that challenge.

DAY 5 – Identify 3 Things to Appreciate about your Adversary

Leave a comment

Identifying someone as an adversary really is not me at all, I am not the type of person who thinks in that way and therefore cannot provide an example of a human being here. What I will do however is name a metaphorical foe, to whom has plagued me my entire life and to whom is no stranger to others out there also, for which I have no doubt.

My adversary, I name you today as societal expectations.

My entire life I have felt slightly different. I have competed with my own thoughts and dreams and many times have had to measure these up against what is seen to be correct and appropriate within society. Today, I give thanks to this feeble foe for it has made me realise that I am the master of my fate and that I will follow my heart regardless of what the outside world has to say.

Here are the 3 things I appreciate about my adversary:

  1. I appreciate the fact that I am able to be true to myself in spite of what these expectations may call for. That they remind me every day that life is not to be lived for someone else or in someone elses shadow. They remind me that I am an individual and that is where the beauty and wonder in life is to be had
  2. I appreciate that these expectations allow me the opportunity to self reflect when times call for it. Life can often be overwhelming in its pace, however, these expectations, and moving as far away from them as possible, offer me the opportunity to stop and consider who I am and where I stand in life.
  3. The last thing I am appreciate about this adversary is that it reminds me every day of the understanding nature, tolerance and love that those closest to me have. In spite of these foreboding societal expectations, and in spite of my utter failures against them, my loved ones love me for me, for all my imperfections and lack of such retaining qualities.

I am grateful to my adversary for reminding me of these simple but honest truths.

Leave a Reply

